Product Description

brand logo

Artist LPDIY Do it Yourself Guitar Kit

Get behind the invention and build your very OWN iconic guitar with these ready-to-go kits. They are unfinished so that you can spray these yourself, cut the headstock to your desired shape.

They include Ready-to-spray bound bolt-on-neck, and bound unfinished body, two humbuckers, cream scratchplate, cream backplates, pots, gold-coloured knobs, chrome-plated tune-o-matic bridge, Stop-Tail and strings. The kit is raw wood without base paint or coating which allows you to do the stain or paint as you would want.

These kits are full size.

The Tech Features

Brand: Artist

Model: LPDIY

Features: 

  • 1x Roasted Poplar Body with Basswood Veneer Top
  • 1x Maple Neck with Eco-Rosewood fretboard
  • Quality ceramic humbucker pickups with numbered wires to connect easily to pots
  • Scale Length: 2512”  628 mm 
  • Nut Width:  42 mm / 158
  • Fingerboard Radius: 12" / 305 mm

(16603)

Bargain Bin

Reviews (3)

Write a review

A Star Is Born

By: on 19 October 2021
Having retired last year, I'm always on the lookout for something to do. I stumbled onto the idea of building my own guitar and, after a fair bit of research, decided to "go local." I typed into Google, "best kit guitars Australia" and the name Artist Guitars seemed to come up a fair bit so, I had no choice but to test their reputation for good guitars and service. I bought the Les Paul Styled Electric Guitar and the rest they say is history. The painting and sanding is definitely worth taking time over. Slower is better. Fitting the neck is fairly simple and everything linked together seamlessly. I thought that the electrics was where I would come to a grinding halt but, with a bit of reading and watching the pro's on YouTube, I realised that Artist Guitars had taken the dificulty out by pre-soldering all the cables. All that was needed was a bit of patience and following the diagrams and it all came together. The rest fell into place quite quickly. The only area that really needs some knowlege is set up of the neck and pickups, as well as getting the hight of the strings right. With a bit of extra help from YouTube, The Red Beast lives. It was great fun and I now have a great electric guitar for the cheap price of $189.00. I would definitely do this again and, this time, make the Strat

Artist Guitars Response
Thank you so much for taking the time to share this feedback. We really appreciate the support!

Not bad bang for buck.

By: on 18 August 2021
Guitar plays really well, all parts line up perfectly and all goes together nicely. The neck fits very snugly into the cavity which is great. Didn't really need any adjustments, just a quick fret polish. Unfortunately, there was still a couple of small issues with mine. Firstly, the wooden veneer on top had a few bubbles in it, which personally isn't a huge issue for me, just looks a little average in some spots. The second issue is that one of my pickups isn't working. I'm unsure whether it's something I have done or if there was a fault somewhere in the hardware (I put everything in as instructed and even double checked all the grounding) but I believe there is still a grounding issue somewhere. Lastly, the instructions were very vague and possibly a little outdated as some of the instructions were slightly different from what actually had to be done. I managed to get the gist enough to get the guitar together which luckily, seemed pretty straight forward anyway. Overall, I would probably try another DIY kit again, it was a fun project and a great learning experience/first step as someone who has always wanted to build a guitar, just hopefully I can sort this hardware issue out.

Artist Guitars Response
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this review and we really appreciate it. Regarding the problem with the hardware, please email us at sales@artistguitars.com.au with the invoice number so we would be able to help you with it.

Artist guitars LPDIY guitar kit

By: on 19 May 2021
It is a good guitar kit. wit works fine and sounds amazing, but the construction part of it was the downside. the instructions are very undetailed and don't give a very good description on the type of screws required for the different parts. I'm not sure about anyone else who has bought this product, but I had issues with the wiring that artist gave us (the connector heads weren't the right type and the connections wouldn't fit). but all in all, the guitar works and sounds fine so I'm happy.

Artist Guitars Response
We're sorry for the inconvenience you had with the kit but check the email we sent on how we can rectify this for you. We have great customer service and we always want our customers to be happy with their purchases!